His Grace is Sufficient

Until last week, I had never had any type of surgery; nor had I ever spent the night in the hospital.  For that matter, I simply never went to the doctor.  However, I had a couple of hernias, one older (umbilical) and one fairly recent (inguinal).  I had been asking God to heal them supernaturally.  I was touched by God and relieved of the pain associated with them, but the protrusions were still there.  I enjoy working out and lifting weights and didn’t want to give that up, so I decided to get the repairs done.  God answered prayer just to get the insurance coverage.  It was denied at first as pre-existing, but I prayed and called them; after being placed on hold for a long time, the rep came back and said that it showed in the computer that an exception had been granted.

I had the surgery on the 16th; it was outpatient.  Everything went well.  I went home that night and couldn’t urinate.  This continued into the next day and I finally let Debbie take me to the ER on Thursday night.  They placed a catheter and kept me until the following night.  I was sent home with the catheter with instructions to go to the doctor’s office on Monday to have it removed.  It was taken out but the urination problem wasn’t resolved.  Ultimately, I was back at the ER at 2 in the morning.  Another catheter.  I was very discouraged.  Downtrodden.  My wife told me that I was letting this defeat me and she was right.  I broke away from the “poor me” mentality.  I am still in the middle of the circumstance, but I have God’s peace.  I also have faith that God is manifesting the healing in my body that I need.  But I have also, upon reflection, came to some conclusions, indeed, revelations.

    • We serve a God of compassion.  He cares about every single thing in our lives.  While there may be a billion people who have suffered more than me, His love and compassion don’t filter through a ranking system.  Jesus didn’t say to the man with the withered hand, “This is nothing… I healed a man who couldn’t walk yesterday.” His compassion for the man as an individual flowed out of him and healed the man.  Our needs and hurts matter to God.  While many others, even in our small church, have suffered much more physically, it was still the most painful thing I have experienced.  I am thankful for His great love for me.
    • Having the deepened revelation of God’s compassion, I want to translate it into my ministry to others.  Translation is a huge key.  My wife talks about being a vet and also being a dog owner.  Last year, she lost a very special dog that had got into her heart.  She said that after that, she identified more with people who were brokenhearted after losing their pet.  That’s translation – translating your own experience into how you respond to others who are hurting.  But translation is a much greater gift than that.  God wants us to be able to translate the pain and hurt of a different experience into ministry to others, no matter what they are going through.  In other words, what you felt during the death of a loved one can be used when ministering to someone with marital problems. The same Healer who touched you wants to flow through you to help heal the other person.

It is not that I didn’t “know” these things before, but it must go beyond just knowing.  I know from the Holy Spirit that God has given me a greater connection with those in pain.  I want the healing compassion of our Father to flow through me into the lives of others.  When I minister to someone, I want that person to feel that what they are going through has Abba’s undivided attention, which, of course, it does.

I will be past the physical aspects of this trial soon, thanks to Jehovah-Rapha, but I am thankful that God was able to speak into my life and deepen my love for Him and others. Oh, and I never received this deeper revelation of God’s compassion until I stopped feeling sorry for myself, so stop letting the enemy manipulate you and trust in the Lord.

Psalm 42:5

Why are you cast down, O my soul?
And why are you disquieted within me?
Hope in God, for I shall yet praise Him
For the help of His countenance.

2 responses

  1. Good afternoon Pastor,

    As I sit here at the Kenneth Copeland ministers conference I am reminded of God’s grace. Yes it’s sufficient but its also more than enough. His grace is mighty because its favorable. His Grace, the unmerited favor possesses your mortal body. How powerful! Your word today is awesome and encouraging. Let me encourage you in scripture… Isaiah 53:4-5 speaks of healing for your body now. 1 Peter 2:24 speaks of healing before you ever needed it. 1 Peter 5:5-8 speaks of His grace for the humble and I know that you are a humble man. So be encouraged today. I release healing from the sanctuary to your body. I speak to your body to made whole in Jesus name. God bless you!

    Pastor Philip Roman

  2. Amen Brother. “Blessed be God, even the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies, and the God of all comfort; (2Co 1:3)

    Who comforteth us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble, by the comfort wherewith we ourselves are comforted of God. (2Co 1:4)

    For as the sufferings of Christ abound in us, so our consolation also aboundeth by Christ. (2Co 1:5)

    And whether we be afflicted, it is for your consolation and salvation, which is effectual in the enduring of the same sufferings which we also suffer: or whether we be comforted, it is for your consolation and salvation.” (2Co 1:6)

Leave a Reply

