Symbols of the Word: Food

The Word of God is Food

This is the first post in a series on the symbols of the Word of God.

Jesus said that “man should not live by bread alone but by every word of God” (Matthew 4:4).

Hebrews 5:12-14 teaches us that God expects us to nourish ourselves and build ourselves up with the Word.

Hebrews 5:12 For though by this time you ought to be teachers, you need someone to teach you again the first principles of the oracles of God; and you have come to need milk and not solid food. 13 For everyone who partakes only of milk is unskilled in the word of righteousness, for he is a babe. 14 But solid food belongs to those who are of full age, that is, those who by reason of use have their senses exercised to discern both good and evil.

The Hebrew Church had a clear deficiency in that they were not progressing in their walk with God.  They had stagnated and needed to be taught again the very basics of their faith.  God sets forth the expectation that we are to grow, to progress in our knowledge of Him.  To fail to do so will limit what God is able to do in our lives.  God tells us in Jeremiah 29:13 that we will find Him when we seek for Him with all our heart.

While reading plans for the Bible are good, such as the ones where you read through the entire Bible in one year.  However, it is more important to allow the Word to get into our hearts.  James wrote to “receive with meekness the engrafted Word” into our hearts (James 1:21).  The word “engrafted” in the Greek (emphytos, pronounced em-foo-tos) means, “to be implanted, to become part of our nature.” It is not enough that you get into the Word… are you allowing the Word to get into you?

Amos prophesied of a time when there would be a famine of the Word of God:

Amos 8:11: “Behold, the days are coming,” says the Lord God, “That I will send a famine on the land, not a famine of bread, nor a thirst for water, but of hearing the words of the Lord.

It is important to study the Word of God when God gives you opportunity.  There are definite seasons in our lives when God gives more opportunity to feed on His Word.  For me, there was a 5-year period after I was saved that God used to pour a foundation of His Word into my life.  I literally studied the Word and prayed as if it were my full-time job, for 8-10 hours a day.  I was a young man without financial responsibilities and God supernaturally provided for me as He set me apart unto Himself.  I will never have that time back in my life again and I am thankful to God that He allowed it.

You may not have 8 hours a day to feed on God’s Word, but do you have an hour?  There are many things that God wants to show you, if you will get alone with Him and allow His Word to speak to you.  If you are hungry, God will fill you.  He will give you the spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of Him.

Tomorrow, we will look at the Word of God as Fire.

3 responses

  1. Pastor, I was drawn to your ministry by your hunger to reach the lost. And now I read of how the Lord drew you aside and gave you revelations and understanding of the Word by the direct teaching of the Holy Spirit in much the same way that He did me in 1980. It wouldn’t surprise me if our spiritual walk had other correlations as well. I feel the Lord leading me to blog by chapter my book of memoirs after I finish the current teaching. God bless you. I feel the anointing on your life is reaching more than you realize.

    • Thank you for sharing that Raymond. The Internet is such an amazing tool. It allows us to connect with believers of like precious faith all over the world. I’m very blessed that I came upon your blog. Thank you for your encouragement. I look forward to reading your upcoming entries. God bless you and I am lifting you up in prayer.

Leave a Reply

