My Spiritual Birthday

Paul on the road to Damascus

 

Just looked at the calendar and realized that today, May 10th, is my spiritual birthday. On May 10, 1983 God delivered me from a life of drugs, alcohol, criminal activity and depression. It was about 2 in the morning and I was getting high at a friend’s house. I had stitches between my eyes and inside my lip and two black eyes from a bar fight two nights earlier. As I sat there, completely, unprovoked by me, the presence of God stood in front of me. It was as if I was picked up by my shirt collar and lifted into eternity. I know what Paul must have felt like on the road to Damascus when God struck him down. I left that house and began walking down the street crying out for God to forgive me and for Jesus to come into my heart. He did! It really did feel like a thousand pounds had been lifted off of my back. I was instantly delivered from all of my addictions and depression. Praise God! All these years later, I can tell you that God has been faithful to me, even when I made the wrong decisions or went the wrong way. He has kept me and I love Him. Thank You Lord for all that You have done for me.

2 responses

  1. What a testimony! Praise God! There are a few bloggers, and especially Pastors I have connected with here on WP who have unbelievable stories like yours. If you haven’t found them and are interested let me know and I will give you their links.

  2. Thanks you for sharing that. What a beautiful testimony. God is so faithful. May He pour out blessings in all that you do for Him. Oh, happy (spiritual) birthday!

Leave a Reply

